MENU Unleashing Yorkshire’s Potential Through Devolution

Jórvíkskyr (Yorkshire) within the Kingdom of Northumbria

Danish era



Kingdom of Northumbria (Danish era) & periodic dominions.



 A-Northern part of former South Rheged, conquered as part of Deira - since 867; Southern part of Cumbria, annexed from Strathclyde – since 874.


The Danes organised Jórvíkskyr (Yorkshire) into three administrative divisions radiating from Jórvík as its capital city.  Each division was called a ‘thridjungr’ (a third part of) which through time became anglicised to ‘thriding’ which, in turn, became ‘riding’ as we say today. The ‘th’ was probably dropped because it was mistaken to mean ‘the’ as in ‘th’riding’.  The Danish administrative organization of Yorkshire survived until 1974 as the East, North and West Ridings of Yorkshire.  The Ridings still exist to this day but in a non-administrative capacity within the Traditional County of Yorkshire.




In 875 the Great Heathen Army split into two factions under Guthorm and Halfdan Ragnarsson.  Guthorm took The Great Summer Army to East Anglia, eventually securing under his control ‘the Danelaw’, consisting of the lands south of Jórvíkskyr and roughly east of a line from Chester to London.  Halfdan, meanwhile, separated former Deira and Danish occupied Cumbria from Northumbria to found the Kingdom of Jórvík as its first king whilst Bernicia became his vassalage with Ricsige as an Angle sub-king. 




                                                    The Danish Raven Banner



Kings of Yorkshire in the Kingdom of Northumbria (Danish) era




867 to 872


Puppet king instated by the Danes.  Died.

872 to 875


Instated by the Danes.  Carried on ruling as a sub king in Bernicia after the creation of the Kingdom of Jorvik in 875.  He was succeeded by Ecgberht II in 876 and Guthfrith Hardicnutson in 878 before the High Reeves of Bamburgh took administrative responsibility for the country.